Litesound as new Belarusian representative in Eurovision-2012

Sat 25 Feb 2012 01:47 GMT | 05:47 Local Time

Text size: bigger smaller

BRTC has just announced a new winner to represent Belarus in Baku.

It’s Litesound with their song We Are The Heroes!

BRTC has announced a new participant for Baku. Litesound who won the jury's voting on the 14th of February will represent their country in the 2012 Eurovision Song Contest. The band will rock the stage with their song We Are The Heroes!

Litesound is a Minsk band, performing pop-rock in English. The band started in 2002 in the form of an acoustic duet by brothers Dmitry (vocal) and Vladimir (guitar, coauthor). Kariakin brothers performed at various international contests in China, USA and Russia. In winter 2004 Sergey Grinko (drums) and Mario Gulinsky (bass guitar) joined the band, changing it into a quartet, and started to perform in Belarus, reported the official Eurovision web-site.

They have taken part in the national elimination rounds for Eurovision in 2006, 2007, 2008 where the band placed among the top five performers (2nd in 2008). Litesound have also reached high places with their songs in the domestic charts and they can count on several international awards:

1. Victory at the contest “MOVA songwriters’ competition” (USA, 2002)
2. Victory at the “Modern Rock Bands Competition” (China, 2002)
3. I prize at an international contest in Italy, 2006
4. A diploma (for Dmitry Kariakin) at the vocalists’ contest “World songs” (Moldova, 2007)




Most read articles

More from Eurovision

In The Region

Editor's Picks

Azerbaijan Cuisine

Explore the food of Azerbaijan - from sherbet to succulent kebab, from baklava to fragrant pilaff

Follow us

Find us on Facebook

Real estate

Virtual karabakh