Azerbaijan's mud volcanoes on Seven Wonders of Nature shortlist

Mon 08 February 2010 15:31 GMT | 20:31 Local Time

Text size: bigger smaller

Azerbaijan's mud volcanoes are one of 28 sites selected for the final of the New Seven Wonders of Nature.

The mud volcanoes are listed alongside such sites as the Grand Canyon, Mount Fujiyama and Poland's Masurian lakes.

Online and telephone voting for the top seven is under way and will continue until the middle of 2011.

The New7Wonders of Nature campaign started in 2007, immediately after the successful campaign to elect the man-made Official New 7 Wonders of the World, in which more than 100 million votes were cast.

The New7Wonders of Nature is now in its third and final phase in which the wonders themselves will be chosen by an estimated one billion votes. The shortlist was compiled through national qualification and a panel of experts recommendation from over 440 participants representing over 220 countries.

Mud volcanoes are a sign of the presence of oil and gas underground. They are created when mud and sand up to several kilometres beneath the Earth's surface are pushed upwards by compressive forces and expelled. Azerbaijan has the highest concentration of mud volcanoes in the world.


See Also

Mud vulcano erupts south of Baku



Most read articles

More from Society

In The Region

Editor Picks

Azerbaijan Cuisine

Explore the food of Azerbaijan - from sherbet to succulent kebab, from baklava to fragrant pilaff

Follow us

Find us on Facebook